December 05, 2013

Interior Design Magazine Inducts Collin Burry Into Hall of Fame

SAN FRANCISCO — Gensler, the leading global design firm, announced today that Collin Burry, FIIDA, has been inducted into Interior Design magazine’s Hall of Fame. The ceremony took place last night at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City.
Collin joins a prestigious group of designers who are recognized for their significant contribution to the growth and prominence of the design industry. Selected by Interior Design Editor-in-Chief Cindy Allen and a nomination committee of previous Hall of Fame members, Collin receives an honor that celebrates the visionary designers shaping the industry’s future.
“The Hall of Fame honors architects, interior designers, and industry luminaries whose talent, vision and dedication contribute to the highest standard of excellence in all areas of design,” Allen said. “I am proud that this year’s luminaries enrich the lives of their clients, our community and, most importantly, the entire design world.”
Collin believes that successful design must be accessible to everyone, not an intellectual exercise understood by only a few. “Design is everywhere — it surrounds us 24 hours a day, and is owned by each of us when we experience it. My goal is to design spaces that create positive outcomes for people. The reason that I am a designer is to help people live up to their potential.”
A “soft modernist” at heart, Collin does not espouse a particular style. He describes himself as both a left- and right-brain personality who creates environments grounded in strategy and aspiring to beauty. Preferring a collaborative process that grows organically, he uses the clients’ goals and personality to design solutions that are unique to them. His creative and contemporary approach to design has earned him more than 60 international and local design awards, and his work has been featured in publications such as Interior Design, Architectural Record, Metropolis, Su Casa, Azure, Businessweek and Fast Company.

Collin is an active member of the International Interior Design Association (IIDA) and served as the President of the Northern California chapter for the 2009–2010 term. In 2011, Collin was recognized as a Fellow of the International Interior Design Association. As a long-time advocate for non-profits, Collin recently served on the Board of Tenderloin Health. A strong advocate for design education, he is a member of the Advisory board for Interior Design at the University of California, Berkeley, and on the CIDA Board for Interior Design Educational Institutions’ Accreditation. Collin has taught at UC San Diego and San Diego State University. He received his Bachelor of Science from Woodbury University in Southern California.
A patron of the visual and performing arts, Collin supports the San Francisco Ballet, San Francisco Symphony and SFMOMA. Collin can be found indulging his “foodie” gene at farm-to-table restaurants in both San Francisco and Healdsburg, where he lives with his partner and a rescue dog named Frida.
Proceeds from the event will benefit the Council for Interior Design Accreditation and The Alpha Workshops through a donor-designated grant by DIFFA, Design Industries Foundation Fighting AIDS.

About Interior Design Media/Hall of Fame Awards
Interior Design Media is the global, industry-leading design publication, website, and events company serving the interior design, architectural, and facility management audiences. For 80 years, Interior Design magazine—published by SANDOW—has been the essential design authority for every professional, on all projects, throughout the design process. Its digital companion,, has become the go-to site for relevant and real-time content for the industry’s largest and most engaged design audience. Interior Design’s Hall of Fame, established in 1985 by former Interior Design Publisher Lester Dundes, recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the design industry, in areas such as architecture, interior design, furniture design and product design. Previous inductees include legendary figures such as Albert Hadley, Frank Gehry, Clodagh, Antonio Citterio, Lauren Rottet, Robert A.M. Stern, David Rockwell, Philippe Starck and many more. For more information, visit

Jennifer Fink