A photo of Robin Klehr Avia

Robin Klehr Avia, FIIDA

Regional Managing Principal

Robin Klehr Avia’s leadership is a hallmark of her professional reputation — whether she is setting a strategic vision for the firm or directing high-profile projects for influential organizations such as The New York Times or The Ford Foundation.

Since joining the firm in 1980 as the 24th employee of the New York office, Robin’s contribution to the firm is one of the many reasons Gensler now employs more than 6,000 people in 48 offices around the world.

As Regional Managing Principal for the Northeast, Robin helped lead Gensler into new markets, growing the region from a single office to more than 1,300 professionals in eight offices. Robin also serves on Gensler’s Board of Directors and is a member of the Gensler Executive Committee and Management Committee.

Robin’s projects have won countless design awards, including the Business Week/Architectural Record Award, the International Interior Design Association’s Decade of Design Award, and national awards from the Society of American Registered Architects. Her leadership and work have been featured in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Fast Company, Interior Design, and Architectural Record. She was profiled in “The Power Architects That Are Reshaping New York City,” part of Commercial Observer’s annual Power 100 list, celebrating the most influential individuals in New York City real estate. Most recently, she was inducted into Interior Design’s Hall of Fame, receiving the prestigious Leadership distinction.

Robin holds a Bachelor of Science in Interior Design and an honorary doctorate from the University of Tennessee. She is a Trustee Emeritus of the Dwight-Englewood School, and advisory board member for the New York School of Interior Design. Robin served on the national board of the International Interior Design Association and was elected to its College of Fellows, the association’s highest honor, in 2000.


  • +1 212.492.8611